Tags

, , , ,

While at the fish market, I was bargain shopping when I placed the fresh basa filet in my cart. At $3.99 per pound it was a HUGE bargain and I figured I was going to make it work. Luckily, BR likes fish too so we just had an open mind about it. The fish monger, while packaging it, held it up and said “this is a good fish, ever have it?”. I said no and he told me a few things about it.

One thing that stood out to me about this fish was how similar to catfish it is. In fact, it’s a passable substitute for catfish that’s less fishy tasting. That was enough for BR and I. So, that’s why this post is called fried “catfish”. Its fried basa filet.

IMG_0655

1/2 cup flour

salt

pepper

2 catfish filets (5-7 oz each) Or 2 basa filets Smile

2 Tbsp oil (I used olive)

Optional: 1/4 cup non fat greek yogurt, juice of half a lemon, and 1 tsp old bay seasoning

IMG_0657

1. Sprinkle the filet with salt and pepper and dredge in flour.

2. While the fish is dredged, set aside and heat a skillet with oil over a medium high heat. Allow the oil to get hot before adding the fish. You test the oil by putting the handle of a wooden spoon in the oil. If it bubbles when it touches the oil, its ready. Or you can wet your hands slightly and flick a drop of water in the oil. If you hear the sizzle its ready. If I had to recommend a method, I would recommend the wooden spoon… but a good 1-2 minutes should be enough.

3. Add the fish and lower to medium flame. Allow to cook on each side for 6 minutes or until golden brown. When the fish is cooked through, set aside on some paper towels. 

IMG_0658

While the fish is hanging out, I made a sauce for the fish. For a lil kick. Non fat greek yogurt with lemon and old bay mixed together make for a great sauce. Taste to your liking. I added more old bay – we likes it spicy.

IMG_0654

Since we were having a southern style dinner, I whipped up some cornbread using an old reliable.

IMG_0659

Jiffy cornbread mix is my favorite instant cornbread. So easy to make and quick too!

IMG_0660

Took another shortcut using a pre shredded cole slaw mix. Just added mayonnaise, mango chutney, salt and pepper.

IMG_0663

Then, we feasted.

The basa fillet was definitely a great substitute for the catfish. You better believe I went back to stock pile my freezer! Smile with tongue out

