Tags

, ,

There is nothing like the invitation to a Graduation dinner from your peers to remind you that you are getting old. I will be 30 in 4 months. *gulp * And my age doesn’t bother me much except when I look at the dinner invitation to my friends celebratory dinner and wince at the 9pm start time.

9 pm?

But I’m practically a Senior Citizen and like my dinner at 6. Also at 9pm I am yawning and in my pajamas.

At the end of the day, I support my friends and made the short trip to the restaurant she chose for a late dinner. It was all worth it.

The restaurant, Acqua Santa, is not too far from my apartment. In fact, it’s a short 5 minute car ride away- how about that for convenient? The Italian restaurant decorated like an Italian cottage was quiet on a Saturday night. The menu is in Italian. The waiters have thick Italian accents; and not the kind from Brooklyn.

The group of us took up the length of the restaurant. We toasted the graduate and feasted on some of the most delicious food I have had in Williamsburg.

IMAG1238

As with most restaurants, you start with bread. Warm. Soft. Buttery. Bread. This bread appeared to be an onion and herb focaccia. Couldn’t get enough!

IMAG1239

To toast the graduate, we all ordered house wine. Red or white. I chose the red. It was a chianti.

IMAG1242

Not knowing much about the menu offerings, I, along with several other diners ordered the bruschetta appetizer thinking it was a few slices of bread with tomatoes on top. What we got was a mammoth crispy flatbread covered in tomatoes and onions and fresh herbs. A true delight… but also, a mammoth. With 5 or 6 of these on the tables in addition to fried calamari and such, these remained leftover throughout the entire meal. Can’t complain too much though since I had 2 heaping portions of the bruschetta.

One of the things I looked most forward to on the menu was the handmade pasta. I love the texture of fresh pasta and knew that no matter what I ordered, I needed that fresh pasta. A fellow diner had highly recommended the squid ink pasta. 10 years or so ago, I would have turned my nose up at it but the idea of black pasta with squid ink sauce and seafood seemed sooo enticing. BR ordered the pasta Bolognese (holding up his motto “its not dinner if there is no meat!).

IMAG1243

Some time has passed since I was at Acqua Santa but the thing that I remember most is that damn squid ink pasta. It was delicious. The pasta was the perfect combination of chewy and savory. The texture alone kept me picking at this dish all the way to its completion. I was completely full and continued to eat. It was that good!

IMAG1245

BR’s pasta with meat was also a hit, but if I had to choose- squid ink pasta all the way.

IMAG1247

They did have other offerings for those wanting something different. A chicken and potato dish seemed to satisfy the likes of a diner who didn’t like seafood. A little something for everyone- me like!

IMAG1248

For dessert, BR ordered his tried and true- the Tiramisu. Creamy, rich coffee flavored dessert. It was delightful. I ordered the crème brulee. I had some doubts since I am finicky with my crème brulees but this one came with the whole package. Crisp sugary crust. Specks of vanilla bean in the creamy custard. All in all a fabulous dinner. Looking forward to an intimate dinner with BR and some squid ink pasta in the near future!

