Tags

, , ,

I feel like the weather is making a permanent shift towards fall. With more and more “summer” days feeling like the beginning of fall, dusting off the crock pot felt like the thing to do. I cannot stress enough how much I love coming home to dinner that is already cooked.

I had bookmarked this spanish comfort dish a while ago and was craving something comforting. Gina’s crockpot picadillo fit the bill perfectly.

IMG_0680

Gina’s recipe called for lean ground beef but I subbed it for turkey because its what I had on hand. For the full recipe, please see her recipe here.

But I made a few tweaks:

  • 2 1/2 lbs 93% lean ground beef ground turkey
  • 1 cup minced onion
  • 1 cup diced red bell peppers
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup minced cilantro
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup alcaparrado (manzanilla olives, pimientos, capers) or green olives (and some of the olive brine)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder (I increased it to 1 tsp)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • kosher salt and fresh pepper, to taste

IMG_0684

Browning the meat on the stovetop and then adding all the ingredients to the slow cooker to simmer on low for 8 hours resulted in a unique stew.

IMG_0683

My apartment was filled with the spicy turkey chili (of sorts) and just needed the addition of a little fluffy white rice. It so reminded me of a dish my mother used to make when I was little. I like this recipe because its easy to assemble and the slow cooker does all the work. This recipe also made plenty to share/freeze. My mom was extremely grateful for the easy dinner.

Hoping the summer comes back at least once before labor day! Mama needs a pool day!

