Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, not that it’s a huge secret or anything but I have been holding out on you. In the beginning of the summer, I signed up with my first ever CSA. For those that are not familiar, CSA stands for Community Shared Agriculture. The CSA provides farm fresh vegetables on a weekly basis. The one I joined is located in my neighborhood, is affordable AND they deliver! I am in heaven! BR? Not so much.

IMG_0907

The contents are always different (except that one time I got kale for 5 weeks straight) and it really inspires my creativity in the kitchen. On this one particular occasion, the weekly newsletter came in with a list of what would likely be added to the CSA.

– carrots

– red potatoes

– english thyme

– kale

– cremini mushrooms

Along with the list of ingredients, the company suggests ways to get the most out of the CSA. They suggested saving the tops of the carrots and using them in a salad.

IMG_0745

But I had steak on the menu for that evening and wanted to try my hand at a chimichurri sauce. So instead of the traditional parsley, I used the tops of the carrots. Here is my chimichurri:

– the tops of 1 bunch of carrots, finely chopped

– 2 cloves of garlic, minced

– 2 sprigs of english thyme,

– 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

– 3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

– salt to taste

IMG_0748

Combine and set aside. The longer it sits, the more aromatic and flavorful it gets.

IMG_0742

Meanwhile, I washed the potatoes and sliced them thinly. Then I sauteed some crushed garlic in butter and tossed in the sliced potatoes with the english thyme.

IMG_0743

Slicing the potatoes thin allowed them to cook faster and get a nice buttery coating of garlic and lemony thyme.

IMG_0744

While the potatoes were cooking, I seared some skirt steaks (seasoned with salt and pepper) on a grill pan for 6 minutes over a medium high flame.

IMG_0747

After the first 6 minutes, I flipped the steak and transferred it to a 425* oven for 10 minutes.  When the steak reached my desired temperature (medium rare), I removed it from the oven and let it rest for 10 minutes.

IMG_0749

When I was ready to serve, I plopped a big spoonful of the carrot top chimichurri sauce onto the steaks alongside the sauteed herbed potatoes and an arugula salad.

The chimichurri was a great addition to the steak and we liked it so much we put it on everything that we ate for the next 3 consecutive days.

IMG_0752

And just an FYI, its heavy on the garlic. I highly recommend feeding it to all in attendance so no one notices the garlic breath.

