Tags

, , , ,

Before I became a cooking obsessed blogger, I turned my nose up at Indian cuisine. Why? No clue. I knew my family would gag at the word curry so, I, in turn, was all “yeah, curry is gross”. Fast forward to the present and not only is curry my world, but I have definitely ventured out to trying quite a few Indian dishes. The very fist Indian dish I had was tandoori chicken. It felt like the safest dish and I remember falling in love with it immediately.

I have had time to appreciate my love of tandoori chicken and now that I am a full fledged grown up (sometimes) I thought making my my own for BR and I was in order. BR wasn’t an adventurous eater when we first started dating but his openness to try anything once was greatly appreciated and over time he began to eat and ask questions later. Spoiler alert: we both loved this.

IMG_0762

I found this recipe on the Cooking Light website. For your convenience, here is the link.

  • 1 cup plain 2% reduced-fat Greek yogurt fat free plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup grated onion
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne pepper)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric (didn’t have any)
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 8 skinless, boneless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon canola olive oil

IMG_0763

Preheat oven to 400*

Combine first 6 ingredients in a bowl, stirring well. Scrape the yogurt mixture into a large zip-top plastic bag. Add the chicken to yogurt mixture in bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator for 2 hours. Remove chicken from bag; discard marinade. Sprinkle both sides of chicken evenly with salt.

IMG_0764

Place chicken on a cookie sheet that’s been fitted with a cooling rack. Since tandoori chicken is typically cooked in a clay pot, elevating the chicken from the cookie sheet will get a similar result that prevents the chicken from cooking in its own juices. For easier clean up, line the cookie sheet with foil or parchment paper.

Bake the chicken for 25 minutes then flip the chicken over for an additional 20 minutes. If you are unsure as to when to take the chicken out, use a meat thermometer in the center of the thigh (careful not to touch the bone). If the thermometer reads 145*, remove the chicken from the oven and allow it to rest for 10 minutes. The chicken’s juices will redistribute and the internal temp will reach a safe 155 or 160.

IMG_0765

I served this over basmati rice with some green beans.

This recipe should feed 4 people; 2 thighs per person.

The chicken is juicy and has a ton of great flavor, even a little kick from the cayenne pepper. Nothing beats the real thing but the homemade version comes pretty damn close.

