Tags

, , ,

Now that summer is officially over (tear), I am getting into all my warm soups and stews. But in honor of the San Gennaro Festival and the Mount Carmel feast, and all the summers I spent stuffing my face with gyros with extra tzatziki sauce, I decided to make a version at home. And a bonus, BR had never had a “gyro”.

IMG_1074

A typical gyro has lamb meat. Its also served in a delicious flatbread. My supermarket had very little selection with regards to flatbreads and pita breads so I decided on a flour tortilla. And instead of lamb, I made boneless chicken thighs, because I love them.

IMG_1075

There was an abundance of dill in my CSA and I could think of no better time to recreate my favorite festival street food!

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 lb boneless chicken thighs

salt and pepper

4 8-inch tortillas

2 cups mixed spring greens/baby spinach

Tzatziki sauce

(for the sauce: 8 oz plain yogurt, 1 medium cucumber – shredded, juice of 1 lemon, 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill, 1 clove garlic, crushed, salt and pepper to taste. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and allow to chill in the fridge while you prepare the wrap.)

IMG_1076

Method: Heat a non stick pan over medium heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper.  Pan fry chicken thighs on each side for 4-6 minutes. When chicken is cooked, remove from heat and assemble wrap.

Place salad, some chicken, and tzatziki sauce in the center of the wrap and roll up burrito-style.

IMG_1078

This rocked my socks. And while it wasn’t the greasy, foil wrapped monstrosity that I could have gotten at the street fair, it was a decent homemade version that I felt comfortable eating in front of the TV with BR while watching cheesy reality shows. The dark meat of the chicken kept it juicy, and the soft white tortilla was pliable enough to handle all the stuffing while being amazingly delicious.

I paired it with a side of Alexia fries for good measure. The BR in your life might consume 2 of these. And if you’re like me, you will want extra sauce.

BTW. Not paleo. Smile with tongue out

