Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you are new here, welcome! If you are a seasoned visitor, you know how much I love and use my slow cooker. It was one of the first appliances I ever purchased for my apartment. I loved my slow cooker so much I upgraded it and didn’t have the heart to get rid of the first- so I have two. And I have zero regret over it.

I find the slow cookers to be very versatile and a true life saver.

As promised, since I have completed my initial 30 days on Paleo, I am sharing some paleo and some non paleo dishes. This particular dish is paleo. And was so comforting on a pretty painful day. I had had several injections in my lower back to treat some back pain and knowing this was already in the slow cooker comforted me and really took the pressure off getting dinner on the table.

Image

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Over Raw Cabbage Slaw and Sweet Plantains (serves 6-8)

Ingredients:

1 boneless pork shoulder (about 3-4 lbs) trimmed of visible fat/skin

2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp onion powder

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 head of cabbage, sliced into thin strips

2 ripe plantains, sliced into 1/2 inch slices pieces

Directions:

The night before cooking, season the pork shoulder liberally with onion, garlic, salt and pepper. Place the pork shoulder in the slow cooker vessel covered and allow to sit overnight. When ready to cook, place the slow cooker vessel in the base and cook on low for 8-10 hours. No need to add water. No need to add anything.

After the desired cooking time is reached, turn off the slow cooker. Using a fork or tongs, shred the pork. It should shred effortlessly! There will be a liquid in the slow cooker, use this liquid to keep the pork nice and moist.

Image

Once the pork is shredded, prepare the cabbage slaw by slicing the cabbage thinly. Set aside.

Image

Prepare the sweet plantains by either frying, boiling or baking. I fried them in coconut oil for 2-3 minutes on each side over a medium-low heat.

 

 

Image

 

In a bowl, or a plate- whichever you choose, serve sliced cabbage and plop a heaping spoonful of pulled pork and all its juicy glory on top of the cabbage. The drippings from the pork act as a sort of “dressing”. Serve some sweet plantains on the side to make up for the lack of rice and beans that would naturally go with this kind of meat.

We dug into this and loved it. Its filling and it makes enough to freeze half and still have lots of leftovers (unless there’s more than just you and your significant other).

This dish is paleo and you dont have to be on the paleo diet to enjoy it. Its healthy and delicious… oh and easy too- thank you slow cooker!

