Tags

, ,

I may have mentioned it before, but one of BR’s top 3 favorite foods is pizza. I have never eaten more pizza in my life than I have since I started dating BR. And really, who can blame him. Pizza is a food that can satisfy all things. Crusty crust, gooey cheese, tangy sauce and an endless array of toppings. It has the ability to satisfy all the food groups.

On this particular occasion, I had acquired a supply of beautiful handmade mozzarella and despite just wanting to sink my teeth into with a crusty baguette on the side, i thought it would serve us better melted on a homemade pizza.

The one thing I cant stand, more than anything, is making pizza dough. Why? I can never make it the same way twice. And instead of buying a premade crust, or a ball of dough from the supermarket, i walked over to my favorite pizzeria and bought a ball of their dough.

“Wait, you can do that?”

YES! and if you needed, you could buy cheese too! Isnt that awesome?

IMG_0538

So, with my $3 ball of dough, I preheated the oven to 500* and inserted my pizza stone into the oven. If you dont have a pizza stone, i highly recommend one- its awesome for breads and stuff- and really makes a difference on the crust.

Ingredients- makes 1 10 inch pie

1 lb of pizza dough

1/2 cup of marinara sauce

8 oz of fresh mozzarella, sliced

IMG_0539

Preheat oven to 500*

Place pizza stone in the oven for about 10 minutes.

Roll out the dough and stretch it until its an 8-10 inch circle.

Place the dough on the pizza stone – being careful not to burn yourself (note to self).

Add the marinara sauce-making sure to leave at least a half inch of “crust” without sauce. IMG_0541

Slice the mozzarella.IMG_0542

Place onto the pizza. BR likes a lot of cheese so i covered the pizza.

IMG_0543

Place in the oven and cake for 8-10 minutes, or until cheese is melted and crust is to your liking.

Purchasing the dough from our favorite pizza ensured the crust was perfect! It was exactly how it tasted had we ordered in. There is something really special about making your own pizza- romantic even. We devoured our pizza with glasses of our favorite wine while watching a movie.

