Tags

, ,

Summer is approaching and in NYC that can only mean one thing: Street Festival Season.

On any given weekend, random streets in NYC will close to automotive traffic to allow people to roam the streets in between kiosks filled candy apples, pashminas, tchotchkes,, mozzarepas, grilled corn and sausage and pepper heroes. While the price certainly goes up every year, the aroma of peppers and onions always makes me swoon, add the fragrance of sizzling sausage and GET OUT OF MY WAY, I NEED THAT SANDWICH!

IMG_1087

Just before the days were warm I had a hankering that would not quit.  I wanted a hero filled with juicy pork sausage that when bit into, the skin produced a delectable snap. I wanted tender caramelized onions and sweet wilted peppers to have a party in my mouth. And I just had to create this baby at home. It wasn’t rocket science. It was pure need. or greed.

Whatever.

Sausage and Peppers on Multigrain Heroes (serves 2)

1/2 lb Italian style sausage (I used hot)

1/2 yellow onion, sliced thinly

1 bell pepper, sliced thinly

2 heroes

Directions:

In a medium sauce pot, boil Italian sausages for 15 minutes. While the sausages are boiling, sauté the peppers and onions in a 1tsp of butter or olive oil over a medium heat. Stir them frequently to allow them to caramelize.

When the onions are a caramel color or light brown, remove them from the pan and set aside.

IMG_1088

Place the boiled sausage in the frying pan to crisp up the casing and brown the sausage. Since its already cooked, you just want to focus on browning the skin. Allow the skin to brown on all sides.

IMG_1090

Feel free to warm the bread you use to assemble the sandwich. I like the bite from a chewy hero. The choice is yours. To assemble the heroes, split the bread down the middle, fill with 1.5 sausages (or more if you have room) and top with peppers and onions.

I loved this. It wasn’t the street food experience but I could appreciate a quick and tasty dinner…

I did NOT however, appreciate the random hard as a rock seeds in the roll that cracked one of my molars.

But that’s for a different kind of post all together.

(happy to report, my molar has been fixed)

