Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Now that hubby and I are back from Negril (and can’t wait to go back) we are trying to get back into the swing of things. The wedding is over. The honeymoon is over. And the gorging on take-out is definitely over.

I came home to a STACK of my favorite magazines. Cooking Light. Food and Wine. Bon Apetit.

My schedule has been a little crazy but once I had a moment, I sat down with my post-it tabs and got to tabbing. While tabbing away, I came across a recipe that reminded me of my favorite comfort dish and the fact that I haven’t made it in FOREVER.

Bolognese over polenta. Really, anything with a marinara sauce and a sharp creamy polenta is heaven to me. It’s simple but so filling and really good! Inspired by this recipe, I tore apart my pantry and freeze and found everything I needed to make this dish- plus a few tweaks.

sausage cannelini tomato ragout

Sausage, cannelini and tomato Ragout

6 ounces bulk hot Italian sausage (6 sausage links with casings removed)

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup chopped onion

1 tablespoon unsalted tomato paste

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/3 cup dry red wine

3/4 cup unsalted chicken stock (such as Swanson)

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Dash of crushed red pepper

1 (14.5-ounce) can unsalted diced tomatoes, undrained (I used Fire Roasted for more heat)

1 (15-ounce) can unsalted cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano

Directions:

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.

Add sausage to pan; cook 2 minutes, stirring to crumble.

Remove sausage from pan.

Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion; sauté 3 minutes. Add tomato paste and garlic; cook 1 minute, stirring frequently.

Add wine chicken broth; cook 1 minute, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Stir in stock and next 5 ingredients (through beans); reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 8 minutes or until slightly thickened.

Stir in cooked sausage and oregano.

bowl of sausage bean and tom

Rosemary Polenta
Ingredients
1 cup ground corn meal
1 cup cold water
2 cups boiling water
1 tsp salt
4 ounces non-fat Greek yogurt
4 Tbsp reduced fat parmesan cheese
1 tbsp dried rosemary

Directions
Combine cornmeal and cold water. Place in medium pot. Place over medium low heat. Add boiling water and stir. Lower the heat and allow to bubble. Add yogurt, cheese, salt, and rosemary. Allow to simmer for 5 or 8 minutes.

Serve polenta with sausage and bean sauce on top. Sprinkle with parm cheese. Enjoy!

bowl 2

This dish didn’t take long to make but it made SO many servings. I had polenta and ragout for days! I love it with lots of grated parmesan!

