Tags

,

I talk some big talk.

When B and I were preparing to say our goodbye, I didn’t think it would be so difficult. On our last day in DC together, we checked out of our hotel and I went with him to his airBnB- where he would stay until his official move in day at his new apartment. His temporary digs were so warm and cozy that upon walking through the door, a huge lump developed in my throat.

I would be going home. Alone.

I watched as the minutes ticked by. I took deep breaths hoping to be strong.

I wasn’t strong.

My mom sent me a text asking if I said goodbye yet and I burst into the heaviest sobs as I thought about leaving DC without my husband. Sure, its short term. Of course he will get to come home for long weekends. But this was the most difficult moment to get through.

After some deep breaths, I was able to calm down enough to stop crying. He and I both thought it was best to let me go to the train station on my own. I ordered an uber. Kissed my husband goodbye and took the longest ride of my life home. The entire ride home, I was keeping myself busy trying not to think of the tears stinging my eyes, threatening to fall.

For the most part, I held it together.

The moment I waked through the door, I was greeted by a very happy Mickey who spent the long weekend with my parents and the heavy sobs began again. This time, I didn’t try to stop myself. I cried it out.

You’re probably wondering why this post is named for Shake Shack and I have yet to mention it…. the point is coming. I promise.

Once upon a time, I was awesome at being on my own. As soon as I had the moment to, I forced myself to go out and enjoy myself- alone.

The sun was shining. The weather was just right. And it was lunch time. I hopped on the train and ended up in Downtown Brooklyn. Shake Shack was calling my name. More specifically, the chicken shack. 20150822_174729

A soft and pillowy potato bun filled with a crisply fried chicken breast, mayo, lettuce and pickle made for sandwich perfection. Add a side of crinkle cut fries and a cup of root beer, you not only have a delicious calorie fest, but you also have a reason to walk home.

20150822_174721

I sat in the sun soaked pavilion near Shake Shack, people watching and completely basking in the moment. I missed my husband terribly but I felt so incredibly at peace and so sure that time was going to fly by.

Until that day comes, lets all head over the Brooklyn Shake Shack for some chicken shacks and Shack-cago dogs.

