Shortly after B moved to DC, my mom surprised me with a 90 minute Swedish massage at my favorite spa. My massage was so relaxing a rejuvenating that, as I left the spa on a gorgeous fall day, I did not want to rush home.

So, as I stood outside of the spa, I turned to my left and just walked. I was in search of lunch. I let my feet decide. I walked through SoHo with Balthazar Bakery on my mind when I suddenly realized I wasn’t that far from Otto. One of my favorite places to enjoy a solo meal at a bar.

Otto it was.

At noon on a beautiful Saturday, I parked myself at the only available seat at the bar. I ordered a sparkling wine and sipped it with slowly.

20150919_122711

The couples nearby were all ordering the anti pasto dishes on the menu. When in Rome. I ordered an old favorite. Eggplant caponatina. Sweet succulent chunks of tomatoes, eggplant, pine nuts and whatever else they sneak in there.

20150919_123019

I inhaled that magnificent appetizer realizing it would be a challenge to fit my main course… but my thoughts were if I walked home I would be okay, maybe.

20150919_124540

For my main course, I had another glass of sparkling wine with a plate of fusili con sausage and escarole; topped with lots of freshly grated parmesan. The al dente pasta. The spicy sausage and the bitter escarole made this a balanced dish and one I did not struggle to finish.

I enjoyed eavesdropping on the conversations around me and even made small talk with my bartender who tried, unsuccessfully, to get me to order dessert. I did want dessert but I needed to walk more to make room.

And as I left Otto, I craved a creamy vanilla soft serve with a rich shot of espresso poured on top.

Chickalicious Dessert Club. An east village gem! The cozy little shop with but 4 stools to sit on has a very creative menu ranging from a chocolate éclair ice cream cone to their take on the Cronut (The Doughssant). I love practically everything there and I love how it still feels like a well kept secret.

20150919_140118

I ordered their affogato. Freshly made vanilla soft serve ice cream, complete with specks of vanilla bean, chocolate candies and a shot of espresso poured over. Since I was there, I grabbed a snack for later: the Crème Brulee Doughssant. For those that do not know, these doughssants taste better than any cronut I have ever had. So if you want to experience the cronut the way I think it was meant to be enjoyed, head over to Chickalicious and enjoy!

It was an amazing day! Unfortunately, this day of walking really aggravated my plantar fasciitis. The following day, while walking on sore feet, I split my fascia in half and have been stuck in a walking cast ever since.

No regrets. 

