Tags

, , , , ,

Brent and I got dressed up for a night on the town.  We find that taking some time to have a cute little date keeps us sane and there’s nothing like a romantic dinner every now and then; amirite?

We were getting stopped by our neighbors. “Are you going to a wedding?” “You guys look fancy!”.

I mean, your girl was feeling herself for a minute.

Then it all began.

The uber we ordered was “5” minutes away but took forever to actually arrive. He was going in circles before he arrived 2 blocks away from us. He called to yell about the difficulty he had in getting to our building and that we had to come to him or he was going to cancel. We were trying to make it in time for an 8 PM reservation. It was 7:45. We had the driver meet us halfway and we waited patiently in the car to arrive at our destination.

A new restaurant not too far from our neighborhood that was offering a chef’s tasting with an advanced reservation. The restaurant was new and trendy which worried me since the new trendy places we have tried as of late have been small and tables were right on top of each other leaving us to share a meal with complete strangers. Not romantic.

I had arranged with the restaurant via email to have our tasting and we were all set.

When we arrived, I gave the hostess our name and she brought us to the back yard and seated us at a picnic table that already had a couple dining… considering the intimacy of our pre-planned dinner, I was not comfortable sitting with another couple I didn’t even know. So, I asked the hostess if there was some mistake since we were scheduled to have a chef tasting.

She said I wasn’t on the list for a tasting but she changed our table and asked the chef if he would be willing to fit us in.

He wasn’t.

There was no AC as it was and we were starting to sweat.

The manager came over and apologized and denied our reservation.

Not wanting to challenge anyone that would potentially prepare my meal, my husband and I got up and left in search of a Plan B.

We walked a few blocks and found ourselves in front of this very charming bistro, Juliette. I have always wanted to try this place but never got around to it. There was no time like the present. So we walked in and proceeded to have the most adorable dinner ever and losing our chef tasting didn’t even matter anymore.

We started with some bubbles because we love bubbles.

20160729_202553Despite the humidity, we opted to start with the French onion soup. Probably the best French Onion soup I have had to date- super cheesy, very flavorful and the alcohol was cooked down completely- so no boozy aftertaste.

20160729_204332For our entrée, I had the diver scallops over polenta and Brent had a grilled chicken sandwich.

20160729_204336I love me a good sandwich and I may have had slight dinner envy because his sandwich was delicious. Great bread. Homemade mayo. Juicy chicken breast. Thick cut bacon. And ripe roma tomatoes. And of course, crispy fries!

My sea scallops were cooked to perfection- nice sear on the outside and supple texture. The polenta was creamy with a nice bit of sharpness to it. I would definitely order again.

20160729_211802For dessert, we shared a crème brulee. Very hard to screw up but still very good!

Our night had turned around for the better! We were rubbing out full bellies as it started to pour so we hailed an uber that came immediately and we hopped in to seek shelter from the rain and the damn car REEKED of cigarettes. Longest 8 minutes of my life!

That’s just how it be’s sometimes.

