Tags

, ,

Felt really good to have a relaxing weekend at home for a change. But of course, it was more because I have a cold than because I just wanted rest. Its so funny how I was saying the other day how nice it has been to enjoy the seasons and not be sick.

Looks like I jinxed myself.

Aside from getting bed rest, I have been watching way too much television and cleaning out my freezer. When I’m bored, I tend to make a mess in my kitchen. I had a Pork Tenderloin and since I hadn’t made one in over a year, I thought I would try my hand at it again.

Of course, when you are sick, your taste buds are impaired. I didn’t let that stop me. I don’t have an exact recipe. I simply placed the tenderloin in a sealable bag to season overnight and when I saw the hoisin sauce, I decided to make an Asian BBQ kind of marinade for my tenderloin.

DSC03891

Ingredients (more like a suggestion as I didn’t measure)

1 pork tenderloin (4-5 lbs)

1/3 cup hoisin sauce

2 Tbsp sesame oil

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp ground ginger

salt and pepper

Method:

In a resealable bag, place the tenderloin and all the ingredients. Seal the bag, ensuring there is no sir in the bag. Refrigerate and allow to marinate for 2 hours or overnight.

When the tenderloin is done marinating, preheat the oven to 450*. Place in a shallow baking dish and place in the oven uncovered for 20-25 minutes (or 5 minutes per pound)

DSC03892

When the internal temperature of the tenderloin reads 145, remove from the oven and let rest for 20 minutes. The resting period will allow the pork’s juices to redistribute as well as allow the internal temperature to reach a perfect 155-160. I like my pork to have a very light pink hue, any more and its too dry for my liking. If you like yours well done, remove the pork when the internal temperature reads 160*.

DSC03893

After the resting period, I sliced the tenderloin into half inch slices.

DSC03894

The pork was tender and juicy. The marinade was sticky and sweet with a touch of savory that really went well with the pork. I snuck a bite and couldn’t stop, even with my whacked out taste buds…

DSC03904

It made for an amazing lunch with a side of grilled vegetables.

My only regret was not making more.