Tags

, , , ,

So now that I am officially a comfy cozy girl in a healthy relationship, the boo and I stay in quite a bit. Not because we don’t want to see anyone or because we hate going out, but after a full week of work, our favorite thing to do on a friday after work is relax. And I must confess that as I get older, I find myself falling asleep earlier and earlier each night without a care. Last friday, I was asleep by 10 pm. TEN. P.M!!!! The time most young adults are on their way out for a night of fun.

I digress. After a week of clean eating and a heavy veggie and fish week, I decided to pick up some lean ground beef. I didn’t have an immediate plan for it, but having it around provided some leeway for that spontaneous moment where I could be reckless and plan dinner as I’m making it. That’s my opinion of reckless.

With a sudden leftover supply of bacon, I suddenly craved burgers.

IMG_0524

with Caramelized onions.

Bacon.

and a soft and fluffy potato bun.

IMG_0527

Ingredients: serves 4

1 lb lean ground beef

1 tsp worcestshire sauce

salt and pepper to taste

1 large spanish onion, sliced

4 slices of crispy bacon

4 oz cheese (I chose extra sharp cheddar)

IMG_0529

1.  In a large skillet, heat a tsp of oil over a medium heat. Add the onions and cook until browned or caramelized, about 8- 10 minutes. When onions are done, set aside.

2. Combine the ground beef with worcestshire sauce. Make 4, 4 oz, patties out of the beef. Sprinkle each patty with salt and pepper. Prepare a cast iron skillet with a tsp of oil. When the pan is screaming hot, place heat on lower setting. Add burgers and cook 4-5 minutes on each side, or to desired internal temps. For burgers, I like mine with a little pink inside.

IMG_0533

3.  Add cheese to cooked burger patties and assemble with onions and bacon. (also a good option: smashed avocado!)

IMG_0536

4. Affix on bun of choice (Mine is potato bun). Serve with baked fries or a healthy side salad.

A simply seasoned burger is the best burger. The addition of the sides just made this a great texture party! It was nice to change things up a bit. We tore these babies up.

