During my first ever visit to Maoz, the vegan falafel chain in the city, there were two things I fell in love with: the roasted eggplant and the roasted cauliflower. Whenever I went to Maoz I would order the falafel and immediately hate myself because my pita would be filled to the max with roasted eggplant and not enough room for my beloved cauliflower. That is, until I discovered the falafel Salad where my toppings were seemingly infinite.

But when summer came, it became increasingly hot and muggy and my desire to hop on a train to grab lunch became less and less… despite my sincere adoration for the salad bar.

The other day, I came across some cauliflower while doing some last minute shopping and as my eyes landed on the giant ball of white broccoli, I thought of Maoz. Surely, I would be able to recreate this masterpiece?

Indeed. I’m sure you want to know that I mastered this recipe on the first try… I’ll tell you- NO. It took 2 times to get this right and I am happy to report that I’m officially sick of cauliflower. But hopefully you aren’t.

DSC02009

To make this delightful side dish you will need:

2 heads of cauliflower, cut into florets

1/4c olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2c tahini

1 large lemon, juiced

1tsp ground cumin

1/4tsp sea salt

ground black pepper, to taste

DSC02010

Method: Preheat oven to 425*. Cut a cauliflower (a washed one) into florets. Arrange them on a nonstick cookie sheet, sprinkle with salt, roast for 15-20 minutes.

DSC02012

In a nonstick skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat for about 5 minutes. When the pan is nice and hot, add the minced garlic. Sautee the minced garlic for about 2 minutes or until fragrant. The idea is not to cook the garlic but merely lend its flavor to the oil.

Next, add the tahini, lemon, cumin, salt and pepper and stir until desired consistency is reached. I tend to be pretty liberal with the salt so season accordingly. The sauce should be nice and thick.

DSC02013

When the cauliflower is slightly browned, remove it from the oven.

DSC02014

Gently pour the tahini sauce over the cauliflower. You might be tempted to taste the cauliflower. Don’t fight the temptation- just give in.

DSC02015

Allow the sauce to really stick to the cauliflower and serve room temperature.

This was amazingly good! It tasted exactly like the cauliflower form Maoz. only, better because I made it.

D and I had cauliflower for DAYS! towards the end, we grew really sick of cauliflower! Maybe I will master the roasted eggplant next.