A few months ago, one of my friends from High School, Nneka, hit me up on facebook. I cant recall her specific wording but to paraphrase, her comment went something like this: “I will travel to Queens if you cook for me”. And really, the Italian in me cannot say no to anyone when it comes to food… not that i wanted to say no… but when i accepted the offer- publicly- i immediately started something.

Pretty soon, Jessica (hey gurl), was in on it and then Megan… plus a few boys that tried to crash the girls day. We set a date and then i immediately began menu planning.

Ulitmately, i decided on chicken as the protein. Nneka, doesnt eat pork. Megan, only eats Chicken or Shrimp. And when Fresh Direct had a sale on whole free range chickens, i decided whole chicken indeed.

DSC00437

To start, i made (for the very first time ever) roasted red pepper hummus. The recipe, which i cannot share at the moment, is a part of a beta ipad cookbook application that a fellow foodie asked me to test for her. What I can do (now that i know how to make hummus) is recreate my own version of this delicious spread.

DSC00450

I paired it with some kettle chips. I really didnt think the ladies were going to like this but sure enough, one of them went home with a nice container full of homemade hummus. So, yay for my first time!

To go with the chicken, i decided to make a spinach artichoke penne and cheese.

DSC00443

Here is my thick and creamy bechamel sauce! yums!

DSC00444

Poured it all over some al dente penne and gave it a healthy sprinkling of mozzarella cheese.

DSC00445

I roasted two small chickens. One was rubbed with Garlic, onion, salt, and pepper while the other was rubbed down with Emeril Essence. I roasted them at 450 for 30 minutes then brought the temp down to 350 to bake for one hour. When it was done (160*), i let it rest before carving.

DSC00446

It was delicious! And i used the pan drippings to make an amazing chicken gravy…although the chicken did not need it.

DSC00447

Nneka preparing to server herself.

DSC00448

the goods. We also had some asparagus that i cooked in butter and salt.

DSC00449

the spread. Looking at this photo i think to myself “why didnt i make any bread?”

the answer: I wasnt being awesome.

Note to self: Be Awesome- EVERY DAY.

DSC00451

Meg and Jess ate, and ate well. Here they sit digesting and talking…. about life. and boys. and then they found out they live a block away from eachother.

see how food brings people together?

Nice!

So once the ladies had made a little more room in their tummies i brought out dessert…

DSC00438

Rich homemade vanilla ice cream….

DSC00442

with some Pure Dark Chocolate chunk oatmeal cookies

DSC00452

for Homemade chip ‘wiches.

i think i did a pretty good job… the ladies went home that night and fell into glorious food comas.

